The Ignatian Way

The Ignatian Way

This route follows in the footsteps of Saint Ignatius of Loyola on his way to the Holy Land in the 16th century, passing through Navarre in three of its stages.

Saint Ignatius was a Gipuzkoan knight who lived in the sixteenth century and, after being wounded in the Battle of Pamplona, dedicated his convalescence to reading religious books which would transform his life. He decided to abandon his comfortable life in a noble family and make a pilgrimage to the Holy Land, starting his journey through the peninsula in Loiola-Azpeitia (Basque Country), his hometown, and ending it in Manresa (Catalonia).

​​​​​​​He passed through the Basque Country, Navarre, La Rioja, Aragon and Catalonia, from where he took the boat that would take him to Jerusalem. The spiritual path followed by the founder of the Society of Jesus is called the Ignatian Way and crosses Navarre in two stages.

Stage 6: Genevilla - Cabredo - Lapoblación - Meano - Laguardia (Basque Country)

Stage 6: Genevilla - Cabredo - Lapoblación - Meano - Laguardia (Basque Country)

Stage 5 ends in Genevilla and stage 6 starts there, passing through Cabredo, Lapoblación and Meano before arriving in the Basque Country.

​​​​​​​Find out more about STAGE 6 here.

  • Genevilla

    Genevilla is the end of a demanding stage that starts in Alda (La Rioja). This village of less than 100 inhabitants welcomes you with its Pilgrim's Park, which has a refreshing waterfall.

    Its church, dedicated to San Esteban, was built in 1200 and renovated in the 16th century in the Gothic-Renaissance style. Its beautiful main altarpiece was sculpted at the same time. Along with that of Lapoblación, it is considered a masterpiece of the Mannerist style in Navarre.

    ​​​​​​​* If you want to stay in rural accommodation, Genevilla offers you two good options:  Casa rural El Encinedo and Casa rural Usategieta

  • Cabredo, Lapoblación and Meano

    • Cabredo is a small linear village built on two parallel streets. Its most outstanding building is the late Gothic church of Santiago el Mayor and the most interesting nature spot nearby is the Peñalabeja natural reserve with its Pyrenean oak trees, a rare species in Navarre.
    • ​​Lapoblación is located between two mountain ranges and has a magnificent landscape, ideal for climbing. In the centre of the village stands the Church of La Ascensión, which dates from the 13th century and boasts one of the finest altarpieces of the Navarrese Renaissance, attributed to Arnao of Brussels. The old Pilgrims' Hospital, a mediaeval ice pit and the remains of a Roman road are preserved.
    • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​Meano: the Church of Santa María was built in the 13th century and renovated in the 16th.

    * You can stay the night in Meano in a beautiful rural house:  Casa rural Atalaya


Stage 12: Alfaro (La Rioja) - Castejón - Tudela

Stage 12: Alfaro (La Rioja) - Castejón - Tudela

Stage 12 starts in La Rioja and enters Navarre again, passing through Castejón and ending in the capital of the Ribera, Tudela.

​​​​​​​Find out more about STAGE 12 here.

  • Castejón

    Due to its strategic position, Castejón has always been a crossroads and Iberians, Celts, Romans, Vascones, Muslims and Christians have all left their mark. With the arrival of the railway and the choice of Castejón as a junction station in 1859, the town enjoyed significant demographic and urban growth. Learn all about its history at the Castejón Museum.

    ​​​​​​​* Check out here local accommodation and restaurants

  • Tudela

    Tudela, the capital of the Ribera, is the second most important city in Navarre. Very well known for its delicious vegetables, it’s also interesting for its artistic heritage: Plaza de los Fueros, the Cathedral of Santa María, with its beautiful Romanesque façade and cloister, several palaces and churches, such as the Church of La Magdalena. It is also part of the network of Jewish quarters Red de Juderías de España.

    ​​​​​​​* Check out here local accomodation and restaurants where you can enjoy the city’s delicious cuisine

    More information about Tudela
Stage 13: Tudela - Ribaforada - Cortes - Gallur (Aragon)

Stage 13: Tudela - Ribaforada - Cortes - Gallur (Aragon)

Stage 13 starts in Tudela and passes through Ribaforada and Cortes before ending in Aragon.

​​​​​​​Find out more about STAGE 13 here.

  • Ribaforada

    Located between the Moncayo and the Bardenas Reales natural parks, the Imperial Canal of Aragon, one of the most important hydraulic works in Europe, runs through Ribaforada.

    ​​​​​​​* Check out here local restaurants. And if you decide to stay overnight, you can make an advance booking at the Municipal Hostel

  • Cortes

    In addition to the Iron Age archaeological site of Alto de la Cruz, the church of San Juan Bautista and the curious ostrich egg museum, this town, the southernmost in Navarre, has a castle dating from the 12th century declared a Site of Cultural Interest. Cortes castle was the residence of Navarrese monarchs and over time its fortress-like appearance took on a more stately air.

    ​​​​​​​* Check out here the restaurants in the town and its two tourist apartments: Rincón del Bú and Talón del Reyno

General information on the Ignatian Way